[Comment2]             The Beauregard Parish School Board met in regular session Thursday, September 12, 2019, at 6:00 pm in the Central Office Board Room.  David Vidrine, Garrett Greene, Cassie Henry, Wesley Taylor, Martha Jackson, Casey Jones, and Nikki Weldon were present.  Darrin Manuel, Ray Bowman, Kathy Bruner, and Student Representative Courtney Smith were absent. 


Timothy J. Cooley, Superintendent, was present and acted as secretary.                                                    


            The Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance were led by Denise Maddox.


            Upon motion of Wesley Taylor, seconded by Casey Jones, board members voted to adopt the agenda as presented. 


            Upon motion of Nikki Weldon, seconded by Cassie Henry, board members voted to adopt the minutes of the August 5, 2019, special meeting of the Beauregard Parish School Board, as published in the official journal. 


            Upon voting, board members adopted the minutes of the August 8, 2019, regular meeting of the Beauregard Parish School Board, as published in the official journal.


            Before beginning his Superintendent’s Report, Mr. Cooley noted that Courtney Smith and Colonel Ryan Roseberry were unable to be present.

            Mr. Cooley advised board members that the student count numbers could be viewed two ways.  From one perspective, which includes total number of students (including the preschool students), the overall student count showed a four student increase over last year’s numbers.  Looking strictly at the MFP student count (which is the number of students for whom the state provides funding), Mr. Cooley stated that we are within 10 students of last year’s number with a couple of weeks to go, so it does appear that the final October 1 student count numbers will be very close to the MFP student count numbers from last year. 

            Board members were advised that the contract for Kace Marcantel, South Beauregard High School Assistant Principal, will be renewed with the effective dates of March 12, 2020, through March 11, 2022.  DeRidder High School Assistant Principal Jason Thibodeaux will have a renewed contract from March 1, 2020, through February 28, 2022. In addition, board members learned that Jennifer Stark would fill the position of Acting Assistant Principal at DeRidder Junior High School from August 21, 2019, through December 20, 2019. 

            Mr. Cooley stated that Kim Hayes would recognize schools which had been designated as Top Growth Schools in Student Progress according to the Louisiana Department of Education Accountability System. Ms. Hayes explained the criteria that the LDOE uses to measure student growth in the state “Every Student Succeeds Act” (ESSA), and noted that in the Southwest Louisiana area 15 schools had achieved the Top Growth in Student Progress designation, with three of these being in Beauregard Parish.  The first of these was G. W. Carver Elementary, where 57% of their students either met their individual student growth targets or achieved certain other goals defined by the state.  According to Ms. Hayes, Pine Wood Elementary and East Beauregard Elementary students had achieved 55% of their student growth targets, as well.  Each of these schools was presented a banner to display at their school in honor of this accomplishment. 


            The next agenda item was to recognize the Beauregard Parish Teachers of the Year.  Kari Ifland explained that this program was sponsored by the Louisiana Department of Education to honor exceptional educators who demonstrated a commitment to student success.  The Beauregard Parish Elementary Teacher of the Year, Susan Wilson, was presented by Pamela March, Principal, G. W. Carver Elementary.  Wesley Henry, Principal, South Beauregard Upper Elementary, presented Laura Matlock, Beauregard Parish Middle School Teacher of the Year; and Shawn Baggett, Merryville High School Principal, recognized Michelle Stark, Beauregard Parish High School Teacher of the Year. 


            Next, board members recognized the Beauregard Parish Principals of the Year.  Mr. Cooley announced that the 2019-2020 Beauregard Parish Elementary Principal of the Year was Chad Schulz, from South Beauregard and noted that Mr. Schulz was also a semi-finalist, and later, a finalist for the Louisiana Principal of the Year, one of three elementary principals to achieve this designation. Following this, Mr. Cooley recognized the 2019-2020 Beauregard Parish Middle School Principal of the Year Mike Greene, Principal at Beauregard Alternative Program, noting that Mr. Greene was in his 39th year as an educator, and stated that he went above and beyond to ensure that students were able to achieve success in a regular school setting after being a student at the Beauregard Alternative Program.  Finally, Mr. Cooley presented the Beauregard Parish High School Teacher of the Year for 2019-2020, Harry Hooker, Principal at DeRidder High School. Mr. Cooley stated that Mr. Hooker was a 20-year veteran with the Beauregard Parish school system, and summarized not only his educational background, but his service to his church and community. 


            The next agenda item was for board members to consider adopting the FYE 2020 budget, after having completed all requirements under LA R.S. 39:1307, including public notice, public inspection, public hearing, and general summary. Lesia Casanovas stated that her recommendation was for adoption of the FYE 2020 budget. Board members requested that the budget be presented at a Monday Finance Committee meeting for discussion, and Ms. Casanovas agreed that could be arranged.  Mr. Cooley acknowledged that the budget was a bit late this year in being prepared, due to the massive computer security issues that had disrupted operations of school systems across the state in the mid-to-late summer. In addition, board members learned that the best time to make suggestions about what might be included or changed in a budget was during the annual budget meeting, typically held in late spring prior to preparation and formal presentation of the budget, which sets in motion a series of events which precludes making major changes to the budget. After formal presentation, changes must be made in a budget revision following adoption, since the formal presentation begins a strict timeline of legal requirements for budget adoption, including the publication and public inspection periods. Upon motion of Garrett Greene, seconded by Wesley Taylor, board members voted to accept the FYE 2020 budget as presented. 


            The final item on the agenda was for board members to hear recommendations from the Policy Committee.  The following motions were approved, upon voting.

a.               Motion to approve new policy File:IDDFA, Special Education Advisory Council, with final

adoption in October 2019.  

b.                Motion to approve recoding of policy File:IDDFB (formerly IDDFA), Service Animals in Schools, with

final adoption in October 2019.


            There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned. 





_______________________________                      _______________________________                                                                                                                                                                           

Secretary                                                                           President